## CATOOSA COUNTY PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES OF FEBRUARY 28, 2023 ZONING MEETING

The Catoosa County Planning Commission met in regular session at the Catoosa County Administration Building in Ringgold on Tuesday, February 28, 2023, at 6:00 p.m..

Members present were: Chairman Jerry Hawthorne, Vice Chairman Jeff Fava, Matthew Farmer, and Wanda Garrett. Richard Johnson was absent.

Chairman Hawthorne welcomed all participants in the audience, as well as the Planning Commission members. Also in attendance was Mike Stewart, Building Inspector, Skip Patty, Zoning Attorney. James Davis, Zoning Administrator was absent.

The following minutes summarize the actions of the Commission:

Approval of Minutes: Wanda Garrett made a motion to approve the minutes for January 24, 2022 seconded by Matthew Farmer. Motion carried 4-0.

Case #1427-23	Wright Estate	0022D108	5639 Battlefield Pwy	Variance
---------------	---------------	----------	----------------------	----------

Jason Mitchell spoke for Equitas Management Group, requesting a variance to build a three-story self-storage building, at 36,000 sq. ft. per story, with a total of 96,000 sq. ft. The conceptual entrance would be on Three-Notch Road. At the advisement of the board, Mitchell agreed to the setbacks of 40'. The approximated number of units would be 600.

Motion: Jeff Fava made a motion to approve with the setbacks. Matthew Farmer – seconded motion Wanda Garrett – approved Jerry Hawthorne – approved Motion carried 4-0 to approve.

Case #1428-23	Sims Family		000900580A4	Barefield Lane	R-1 to A-1
---------------	-------------	--	-------------	----------------	------------

Bernard Sims spoke for a family who requested to Sims to rezone to A-1. It boarders A-1 property.

Motion: Wanda Garrett made a motion to approve the rezone. Jeff Fava – seconded motion Matthew Farmer – approved Jerry Hawthorne – approved Motion carried 4-0 to approve Case #1429-23 Scott VanHorn 00420060 8847 Alabama Hwy SZ to I-1

Scott VanHorn requests the rezone of the piece of property so he can use the house as an office for his trucking business. He also stated he would like to eventually build a shop on the property.

Fred Walker, who owns the land next to this property, asked about the lowlying area in the back of the property. He also had concerns about storm water drainage, noise, and traffic.

Chairman Hawthorne stated that a stormwater plan would need to be in place before any land disturbance was made.

Motion: Wanda Garrett made a motion to approve to rezone to I-1 with no access from Walker Lane, with all access to be from Alabama Hwy.

Matthew Farmer – seconded motion Jeff Fava – approved Jerry Hawthorne – denied. Motion carried 3-1 to approve

Michael Henry would like to broaden his event site to include events such as car shows, charity fundraisers, craft shows, etc. He stated that the previous case specified that only weddings would be allowed.

Motion: Matthew Farmer made a motion to approve to an open events center with all events ending at 10 P.M. on weekdays and 11 P.M. on weekends.

Wanda Garrett – seconded motion Jeff Fava – approved Matthew Farmer – approved Jerry Hawthorne – approved Motion carried 4-0 to reject.

Case #1431-23 Enoch Hurd

0036A03800A 3493 pt of 0035B002

3493 Hwy 41 R-1 to C-1

Enoch Hurd requests the rezoning to park equipment and trucks when not in use. He owns the property across. He has a stormwater plan in place and will match the fence to his across the road.

Motion: Matthew Farmer made a motion to approve both parcels, and to leave the buffer.

Wanda Garrett – seconded motion Jeff Fava – approved Jerry Hawthorne – approved.

## Motion carried 4-0 to approve

Wanda Garrett made a motion to nominate Jerry Hawthorne for Chairman for year 2023. Matthew Farmer seconded motion. 3-0.

Jeff Fava made a motion to nominate Richard Johnson for Vice-Chairman for year 2023. Matthew Farmer seconded motion. 4-0.

It is the recommendation of Chairman Hawthorne stated that the minutes each month be given to the Board of Commissioners, Public Officials, or any Citizen after the final approval.

Approved this \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_, 2022.

Chairman of Planning Commission

cc: Planning Commission Members Board of Commissioners Dan Wright, County Manager James Davis, Director of Planning and Inspections Chad Young, Attorney